Opinion: The NFL MVP Award is Losing Its Value

By Lawrence Lease on February 5, 2019

As the NFL season came to close journalists and football legends came together and decided to name Patrick Mahomes the league’s MVP for the 2018 season. Although you can make a case for numerous players, two stick out from the rest: Patrick Mahomes and Drew Brees. Drew Brees, a future Hall of Famer who’s still kicking it while being only days away from turning 40. And Patrick Mahomes, the new kid in town who makes plays that leave you wondering, how?

Photo By: Pixabay.com

I’ve been following the NFL for the past two decades, and I’ve fallen in love with the game of football. For the past couple of years, I’ve noticed a pattern though, especially when it comes to the NFL MVP award. Unlike in years past when legends such as Joe Montana and Kurt Warner would bring home the award, for the past few years, the MVP award has turned into the “Decent Quarterback blows up for one year award.”

This all started back in 2015 when Cam Newton had a season for the ages. The Panthers were 15 and 1, and Cam Newton looked like the best player in football. This was uncharacteristic of Cam because in seasons past he had been a solid quarterback but never a top 5 quarterback. He won the MVP award that year but had a meltdown in the Super Bowl, the next season he came back down to earth and he has not been at that unstoppable level ever since.

The year after Cams MVP year another NFC south quarterback seemed to magically elevate his play, Matt Ryan. In 2016, Matt Ryan looked like one of the greatest quarterbacks to ever play the game. Same as Cam, Ryan had never been an electric quarterback, but in 2016, his play was extraordinary. He won MVP that season and similar to Cam lost in the Super Bowl and the next year. He has not been able to mimic that play ever since.

Some people may point out last seasons MVP, Tom Brady. Arguably the greatest quarterback to ever play the game. He is a prime example of a legendary player winning the MVP award. However, you have to realize that throughout the majority of the season the MVP front-runner was Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz. In his second year in the league went was playing lights out before a torn ACL ended his season short. If not for that injury Wentz would’ve continued the streak of a breakout season being awarded the MVP honors.

This year the NFL is on a similar path, Patrick Mahomes is having a magnificent season, playing excellent at the quarterback position. I’m not saying Mahomes is having a fluke season but if I had to choose the MVP award I would give it to Drew Brees. A quarterback who consistently plays at this level year in and year out. His win shows the NFL doesn’t have a recency bias. I’m not saying Mahomes will not be an all-time great quarterback. Or that he won’t be able to keep his game at this level every year. But I would not be surprised if Mahomes looks average next season after winning MVP this season. It’s turning into a pattern and Mahomes could easily keep the streak going. He could also prove me wrong, we’ll just have to see.

Born and raised in Wasilla, Alaska. I am citizen journalist and looking to find a official paying journalism job somewhere in the country. I enjoy watching TV, reading books and traveling.

Follow Uloop

Apply to Write for Uloop News

Join the Uloop News Team

Discuss This Article

Get Top Stories Delivered Weekly

Back to Top

Log In

Contact Us

Upload An Image

Please select an image to upload
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format
Provide URL where image can be downloaded
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format

By clicking this button,
you agree to the terms of use

By clicking "Create Alert" I agree to the Uloop Terms of Use.

Image not available.

Add a Photo

Please select a photo to upload
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format